About COMEX

Mission

The Environmental and Social Impact Review Committee (the Review Committee – COMEX) is an independent body reporting to the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and the Fight against Climate Change. Its mission is to contribute to the protection of human health and the environment and to the economic and social well-being of the peoples inhabiting the territory governed by the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) that lies south of the 55th parallel.

Mandate

The Review Committee was created under Chapter 22 of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA), with its mandate being to recommend to the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and the Fight against Climate Change or to the Cree Regional Administrator whether or not to authorize development projects that are subject to the environmental assessment and review procedure. Where appropriate, the Committee determines the conditions under which a project may proceed, and if necessary, specifies the appropriate preventive or remediation measures.

Thus, the Review Committee analyzes every project that is submitted for review and assessment as prescribed in Chapter II of the Environment Quality Act (EQA), using the relevant expertise of the governments of Quebec and the Cree Nation. The participation of affected populations, as well as of other individuals and groups, is also an important component of the Review Committee’s approach so that the Review Committee can identify the concerns of the people in the territory, paying particular attention to the traditional knowledge of aboriginal communities.

As part of its mandate, the Review Committee devotes particular attention to the following principles:

a. the protection of aboriginal hunting, fishing and trapping rights;
b. the protection of the social and natural environments;
c. the protection of aboriginal peoples and their societies, communities and economies;
d. the protection of wildlife, the physical and biological environments, and ecosystems;
e. the rights and guarantees of aboriginal peoples in Category II lands;
f. the participation of the Crees in the application of the environmental and social protection regime;
g. the rights and interests of non-aboriginals;
h. the right of any natural or legal person to carry out lawful projects.

À propos du COMEX

Mission

Le Comité d’examen des répercussions sur l’environnement et le milieu social (Comité d’examen – COMEX) est un organisme indépendant qui relève du ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques. Il a pour mission de contribuer à la protection de la santé et de l’environnement ainsi qu’au bien-être économique et social des populations habitant le territoire de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ), au sud du 55e parallèle.

Mandat

Le COMEX, créé par le chapitre 22 de la CBJNQ, a pour mandat de recommander ou non au ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques ou à l’Administrateur régional cri la réalisation de projets de développement visés par la procédure d’évaluation environnementale. Le cas échéant, il détermine à quelles conditions, en précisant au besoin les mesures de prévention ou de correction appropriées, un projet peut se réaliser.

Ainsi, le COMEX analyse chaque projet soumis à la procédure d’évaluation environnementale et sociale prévue au chapitre II de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (LQE) en utilisant les expertises pertinentes des gouvernements du Québec et de la Nation crie. La participation des populations concernées, ainsi que des autres personnes ou groupes, constitue également une partie importante des façons de faire du COMEX. Conséquemment, le COMEX identifie les préoccupations des populations du territoire et en particulier tient compte du savoir traditionnel des communautés autochtones.

Dans le cadre de son mandat, le COMEX accorde une attention particulière aux principes suivants :

a. la protection des droits de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage des autochtones;
b. la protection de l’environnement et du milieu social;
c. la protection des autochtones, de leurs sociétés, de leurs communautés et de leur économie;
d. la protection de la faune, du milieu physique et biologique et des écosystèmes;
e. les droits et garanties des autochtones dans les terres de la catégorie II;
f. la participation des Cris à l’application du régime de protection de l’environnement et du milieu social;
g. les droits et intérêts, quels qu’ils soient, des non-autochtones;
h. le droit de réaliser des projets, que possèdent les personnes agissant légalement.