Steps in the Procedure

In accordance with Article 154 of the Environment Quality Act (EQA), any project proponent wishing to carry out a project that is automatically subject to the procedure, or a “grey zone” project, must first request a certificate of authorization or an attestation of exemption and undergo the social and environmental impacts assessment and review procedure For details, please consult the section “Projects Subject To and Exempt From the Process”.

1 Preliminary Information Statement

As the first step in the procedure, the proponent must complete a Preliminary Information Form. This step should coincide with the preliminary planning of the project, when the proponent is studying the various possible options and the technical, economic, environmental and social aspects of a project so as to select the best options for further study. Under Articles 155 and 156 of the Act, the proponent must then send the appropriate Administrator a notice of intent and the preliminary information on the project. The content of this preliminary information is set out in Article 2 of the Regulation respecting the environmental and social impact assessment and review procedure applicable to the territory of James Bay and Northern Québec, and includes in particular:

  • The identity of the proponent and their consultant, if there is one;
  • the project title;
  • the project objectives and justification;
  • the project location and any plans to study alternative locations;
  • a description of the project and alternatives under study;
  • main environmental and human constraints;
  • primary impacts anticipated;
  • public information and consultation processes;
  • project schedule;
  • subsequent phases and related projects;
  • in the case of a “grey zone” project, which is not automatically subject to or exempt from the procedure according to Schedules A and B of the Act, sufficient information must be provided to enable a summary evaluation of the social and environmental impacts of the project and to determine, if necessary, whether or not the project must undergo the assessment and review procedure.

Please visit the page “Renseignements préliminaires pour la réalisation d’un projet en milieu nordique” on the MDDELCC website for more details on the information required and the form that must be completed.

Retour à la liste des étapes

2 Assessment and Directive

Once the Administrator has received the preliminary information and the notice of intent, the file is forwared to the Evaluating Committee (COMEV).

In the case of a grey zone project, the COMEV must first decide to recommend to the Administrator that the project be subject to or exempted from the assessment and review procedure. To this end, the COMEV studies all the documentation presented. If necessary, the COMEV may recommend that the Administrator ask the proponent to respond to additional questions or comments. When the COMEV has completed its analysis, it sends its recommendation to the Administrator. Note that when a project is exempted, an attestation of exemption is sent to him/is issued. If a project is subject to the procedure, whether automatically or following the recommendation of the Evaluating Committee, it continues its way through the process.

The COMEV issues a directive for all projects that must undergo the process. The directive is a document outlining the nature and scope of the impact study that the proponent must undertake. This directive is sent to the Administrator, who forwards it to the proponent, with or without revisions. If the Administrator considers it necessary to revise a recommendation from the COMEV, he must consult it first.

Retour à la liste des étapes

3 Preparing the impact study

During this stage, the project proponent undertakes an impact study that complies with the directive issued by the Administrator.

It should be noted that Article 5 of the Regulation respecting the environmental and social impact assessment and review procedure applicable to the territory of James Bay and Northern Québec sets out the essential elements that should be found in an impact study, including:

a. “a detailed description of the project, including its objectives, possible alternative sites, the identification of the territory and populations likely to be affected, an evaluation of the equipment and the activities related to the various phases of the carrying out of the project, as well as the extent and make-up of the personnel required, and energy assessment and materials (input and output) employed by the project, an evaluation of available material, technical and human resources required for operating the project, a statement of subsequent phases of the project as well as possible stages of future development;

b. a description of the environment, in particular the land (topography, geology, soil and drainage), water (hydrology and qualitative aspects thereof), the atmosphere (climate, localized climates and qualitative aspects), flora and fauna, including data respecting the ecological reports and the interaction between various elements of the environment, the scarcity, the fragility, the productivity, the variety, the development and the localization of those elements;

c. a description of the social milieu, populations in particular (demography, place of residence, ethnic composition), land use (man-made constructions, dwelling-places, public services, roads, known heritage sites, cemeteries and burial sites), wildlife development (methods of management, utilization and importance of various species), revenues and usage (standard of living, employment, firms), social institutions (education, public services, transportation and other service undertakings), health and welfare, social structures (family, community, ethnic relations), and culture (values, goals and aspirations);

d. an evaluation of the impact which the project is likely to have on the environment and the social milieu, described in accordance with subparagraphs b and c, including direct, indirect, cumulative, long and short term, reversible and irreversible, local, regional and national effects which are likely to take place at various stages of the carrying out of the project, with reference to the reliability and accuracy of the data used as well as restrictions imposed on the impact assessment statement due to lack of information and areas showing uncertainty or risk;

e. a description of reasonable alternatives to the site of the project on the territories referred to in section 133 or 168 of the Act and of reasonable alternatives to certain elements of the project, including a comparative evaluation of costs, advantages or dangers of each alternative on the environment and social milieu;

f. a description and an evaluation of corrective and restorative measures to reduce or minimize the negative effects of the project on the environment and social milieu, including any measure intended to promote the desirable effects of the project.

The accuracy of the details provided in the impact assessment statement must correspond to the extent and the consequences of the identified impacts.”

Retour à la liste des étapes

4 Review

The proponent submits the impact assessment statement to the Administrator, who forwards it to the Review Committee. The Review Committee analyzes every project that must undergo the social environmental assessment and review procedure, calling on the relevant expertise from various Quebec government departments and agencies as well as from the government of the Cree Nation.

In the course of its analysis, the Review Committee may recommend that the Administrator forward questions or comments to the project proponent, or that he ask the proponent to undertake further research or additional studies.

During this step in the procedure, the public is given the opportunity to make submissions to the Committee; the Review Committee may also hold public hearings or other forms of consultation. This public participation enables the Review Committee to gauge the concerns of the people in the territory, and to benefit from the traditional knowledge of the aboriginal communities.

When it has finished its review, the Committee recommends whether or not the project should be authorized, and if necessary, determines the conditions that will apply. The Review Committee can also specify any modifications or additional measures it considers necessary.

Retour à la liste des étapes

5 Decision

Once the Administrator has received the Review Committee’s recommendation, he either refuses the project, or approves it and issues a certificate of authorization. Note that the register of all certificates of authorization issued since January 1, 2000 is available online on the MDDELCC website.

If the Administrator cannot accept the Review Committee’s recommendation, he must consult with it before rendering a final decision and informing the proponent. The final decision is also forwarded to the Government of the Cree Nation.

 

Subsequent authorizations
Even though the proponent has received a certificate of authorization, he must still obtain any other authorizations required by virtue of Chapter I of the Environment Quality Act.

 

Amendments to the certificate of authorization
If the proponent wishes to make any changes to a project after it has been authorized, he must ask the Administrator for an amendment to the certificate of authorization.
The Administrator forwards this request to the Review Committee, which analyzes the request and if necessary, consults the relevant experts. It can also recommend that the Administrator ask the proponent to respond to additional questions or comments. Finally, the Review Committee recommends that the amendment be authorized or refused. If may also attach certain conditions to the recommendation for approval.

Retour à la liste des étapes

Monitoring and control

The Minister of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MDDELCC), through the Direction régionale du Nord-du-Québec, is responsible for ensuring that projects comply with the provisions of their authorizations. This control is in addition to the monitoring activities to be carried out by the proponents themselves.

For certain major projects such as hydroelectric development or mines, the MDDELCC may require the proponent to monitor certain specific components, in order to track or detect various impacts or to better determine what mitigation measure are needed.

Retour à la liste des étapes

Étapes de la procédure

Conformément à l’article 154 de la loi sur la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (LQE), tout promoteur de projet désirant réaliser un projet obligatoirement assujetti ou un projet de « zone grise » doit d’abord demander un certificat d’autorisation ou une attestation de non-assujettissement et se soumettre au processus d’évaluation et d’examen des impacts sur l’environnement et le milieu social. Pour plus d’information, consultez la section « assujettissement à la procédure ».

1 Déclaration et renseignements préliminaires

La première étape du processus est la déclaration du promoteur de projet. Cette étape débute avec la planification préliminaire du projet, c’est-à-dire au moment où le promoteur étudie les options possibles et les aspects techniques, économiques, environnementaux et sociaux du projet afin de choisir les meilleures options en vue d’études ultérieures. En vertu des articles 155 et 156, le promoteur doit alors faire parvenir à l’administrateur concerné un avis d’intention et les renseignements préliminaires relatifs au projet. Le contenu des renseignements préliminaire est défini par l’article 2 du Règlement sur l’évaluation et l’examen des impacts sur l’environnement et le milieu social dans le territoire de la Baie James et du Nord québécois et contiennent notamment :

  • l’identification du promoteur et de son consultant, s’il y a lieu;
  • le titre du projet;
  • les objectifs et la justification du projet;
  • la localisation précise du projet et l’intention d’étudier d’autres emplacements, le cas échéant;
  • la description du projet et de ses variantes;
  • les principales composantes des milieux biophysique et humain;
  • les principaux impacts appréhendés du projet;
  • les modalités d’information et de consultation du public;
  • le calendrier de réalisation du projet;
  • les phases ultérieures et les projets connexes;
  • dans le cas d’un projet de « zone grise », qui n’est pas obligatoirement assujetti ou soustrait à la procédure selon les types de projets énumérés aux annexes A et B de la loi, des renseignements suffisants doivent être fournis pour permettre d’évaluer sommairement les impacts du projet sur l’environnement et le milieu social et pour déterminer, s’il y a lieu, la nécessité d’assujettir ou non le projet à la procédure.

Nous vous invitons à visiter la page « Renseignements préliminaires pour la réalisation d’un projet en milieu nordique » du site Internet du MDDELCC pour obtenir plus de détails sur les renseignements requis à ce stade ainsi que le formulaire prescrit.

Retour à la liste des étapes

2 Évaluation préliminaire et directive

Une fois les renseignements préliminaires et l’avis d’intention reçus par l’Administrateur, celui-ci transmet le dossier au COMEV.

Dans le cas d’un projet dit de « zone grise », le COMEV décide d’abord de recommander à l’Administrateur l’assujettissement ou non à la procédure. Pour ce faire, il analyse l’ensemble de la documentation présentée dans le dossier. Si nécessaire, il recommande à l’Administrateur d’obtenir des informations supplémentaires ou de formuler des commentaires. Aux termes de son analyse, le COMEV transmet sa recommandation à l’Administrateur. Notez que lorsqu’un projet est non-assujetti, une attestation de non-assujettissement lui est délivrée. Lorsqu’un projet est assujetti, que ce soit obligatoirement ou à la suite de la recommandation du COMEV, il poursuit sont chemin dans la procédure.

Pour tous les projets assujettis, le COMEV formule une recommandation de directive. Une directive est un document qui précise la nature et la portée de l’étude d’impact que doit réaliser le promoteur. Cette directive est soumise à l’Administrateur qui la transmet au promoteur, avec ou sans modifications. Si l’Administrateur juge nécessaire de revoir une recommandation du COMEV, il doit obligatoirement consulter ce dernier au préalable.

Retour à la liste des étapes

3 Élaboration de l’étude d’impact

Au cours de cette étape, le promoteur de projet réalise une étude d’impact conforme à la directive émise par l’Administrateur.

Il importe de noter que l’article 5 du Règlement sur l’évaluation et l’examen des impacts sur l’environnement et le milieu social dans le territoire de la Baie James et du Nord québécois définit les éléments essentiels que l’on doit retrouver dans une étude d’impact, soit :

a. « une description complète du projet, y compris les objectifs recherchés, les emplacements de rechange possibles, l’identification du territoire et des populations susceptibles d’être affectées, une évaluation des installations et des activités reliées aux différentes phases de réalisation du projet ainsi que de l’importance et de la composition de la main-d’oeuvre requise, un bilan énergétique et un bilan des matériaux (entrées et sorties) utilisés pour le projet, une évaluation des ressources matérielles, techniques et humaines requises pour l’exploitation du projet, un énoncé des phases ultérieures du projet ainsi que des phases éventuelles de développement ultérieur;

b. une description de l’environnement, notamment du milieu terrestre (topographie, géologie, sol et drainage), des milieux hydriques (hydrologie et aspects qualitatifs), du milieu atmosphérique (climat, microclimats et aspects qualitatifs), de la végétation et de la faune, y compris des données sur les rapports écologiques et les interactions entre les différents éléments de l’environnement, la rareté, la fragilité, la productivité, la variété, l’évolution et la localisation de ces éléments;

c. une description du milieu social, notamment des populations (démographie, domicile, composition ethnique), l’utilisation du territoire (établissements humains, habitations, services publics, voies de communication, sites patrimoniaux connus, cimetières et lieux de sépulture), l’exploitation de la faune (modes d’exploitation, utilisation et importance des différentes espèces), le revenu et l’emploi (niveau de vie, emploi, entreprises), les institutions sociales (éducation, services publics, transports et autres entreprises de services), la santé et la sécurité, les structures sociales (famille, communautés, relations ethniques) et la culture (valeurs, buts et aspirations);

d. une évaluation des répercussions probables du projet sur l’environnement et le milieu social décrit conformément aux paragraphes b et c, y compris les répercussions directes, indirectes, cumulatives, à long et à court termes, réversibles, irréversibles, locales, régionales et nationales susceptibles de survenir aux différentes étapes de réalisation du projet, avec mention de la fiabilité et de l’exactitude des données utilisées ainsi que des restrictions imposées à l’étude d’impact en raison d’un manque de renseignements et des domaines présentant une incertitude ou un risque;

e. une description des solutions de rechange raisonnables à l’emplacement du projet sur les territoires visés aux articles 133 ou 168 de la Loi et des variantes raisonnables à certains éléments du projet, y compris une évaluation comparative des coûts, des avantages ou des dangers de chaque variante pour l’environnement et le milieu social;

f. une description et une évaluation des mesures correctives et réparatrices requises pour diminuer ou atténuer les conséquences néfastes du projet sur l’environnement et le milieu social, y compris toute mesure destinée à mettre en valeur les répercussions souhaitables du projet.

La précision des détails fournis dans l’étude d’impact doit correspondre à l’importance et aux conséquences des impacts identifiés. »

Retour à la liste des étapes

4 Examen

Le promoteur dépose ensuite l’étude d’impact auprès de l’Administrateur, qui voit alors à la transmettre au COMEX. Le COMEX analyse chaque projet soumis à la procédure d’évaluation environnementale et sociale en utilisant non seulement l’expertise pertinente des ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Québec, mais aussi celle du Gouvernement de la nation crie.

Au cours de son analyse, le COMEX peut recommander à l’Administrateur de poser des questions, d’émettre des commentaires ou de demander au promoteur de poursuive certaines recherches ou études supplémentaires.

À cette étape, le public a la possibilité de faire des représentations auprès du comité, qui peut aussi tenir des audiences publiques ou toute autre forme de consultation. La participation publique permet au COMEX de jauger les préoccupations des populations du territoire et de tenir compte du savoir traditionnel des communautés autochtones.

Aux termes de ses travaux, le COMEX recommande l’autorisation ou non du projet et, le cas échéant, détermine les conditions qui s’y appliquent. Il appartient au COMEX de préciser les modifications ou mesures additionnelles qu’il juge appropriées.

Retour à la liste des étapes

5 Décision

Une fois la recommandation du COMEX reçue, l’Administrateur refuse ou autorise un projet. Le cas échéant, un certificat d’autorisation est alors émis. Notez qu’un registre des certificats d’autorisation émis depuis le 1er janvier 2000 est en ligne sur le site du MDDELCC.

S’il ne peut accepter la recommandation du comité, il doit alors consulter ce dernier avant de rendre sa décision finale et en informer le promoteur. La décision finale est également transmise au Gouvernement de la Nation crie.

 

Autorisations subséquentes

Même s’il a obtenu un certificat d’autorisation, un promoteur doit également obtenir toutes les autorisations nécessaires en vertu du chapitre I de la LQE.

 

Modifications du certificat d’autorisation

Tout changement que souhaiterait apporter un promoteur à un projet devra faire l’objet d’une demande de modification du certificat d’autorisation auprès de l’Administrateur.

L’Administrateur transmet alors cette demande au COMEX. Le COMEX analyse la demande et, si nécessaire, consulte à nouveau certains experts dans les domaines pertinents à la modification. Il peut aussi recommander à l’Administrateur de poser des questions ou d’émettre des commentaires. Finalement, il recommande l’autorisation ou le refus de la modification, le cas échéant une modification de certificat d’autorisation est émise et peut inclure certaines conditions.

Retour à la liste des étapes

Suivi et contrôle

Le Ministère, par l’entremise de la direction régionale du Nord-du-Québec, exerce un contrôle sur la conformité des projets réalisés suivant les autorisations délivrées par le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques. Ce contrôle s’ajoute aux activités de surveillance que doivent exercer les promoteurs eux-mêmes.

Pour certains projets majeurs tels les aménagements hydroélectriques et les projets miniers, le Ministère pourra exiger du promoteur qu’un suivi environnemental soit fait sur certains éléments spécifiques, dans le but de valider ou de déceler certains impacts ou de mieux définir certaines mesures d’atténuation devant être mises en place.

Retour à la liste des étapes