Nyrstar Langlois mine project

Step in the procedure

The Langlois mining projet (formerly Grevet mine, then Gonzague-Langlois) was authorized on November 18, 1994.

Information on the projet

Promoter

Nyrstar

Reference number

3214-14-026

Subscribe to the email alerts for this project

You need further information?

Contact us by email at [email protected]

Project summary

The Grevet mining project received authorization on November 18, 1994 for the underground mining of a zinc and copper deposit at the rate of 2500 tonnes a day (seven days a week) for 10 years. The overburden was assessed at 15,000 cubic meters, and the mine produced about 1 million cubic meters of waste rock, 10,000 cubic meters of which is potentially acid-generating. Waste rock can be used in the construction of various infrastructures and as underground mine backfill, and the pile should contain about 200,000 m3 of non-reactive waste rock. The ore stockpile, which was not supposed to exceed 125,000 tonnes, was constructed on bedrock. The project connected to Lebel-sur-Quevillon via an existing road and the mine’s power was supplied via a 120 kV line to the Lebel substation. There was no worker housing on the site. Production came to a temporary halt on November 2, 2008, to start again in 2012.

This project is currently subject to an application to amend the certificate of authorization to increase the annual volume of effluent and modify the distribution of effluent discharges at different target periods. More specifically, the amendment request has the following objectives:

  • Increase in the annual volume of the effluent to 3 900 000 cubic metres
  • Re-allocation of final effluent releases at different target periods to better distribute them according to fluctuations in natural water supplies in the tailings pond.

Details on location

The Langlois mining site is located approximately 40 kilometers north of Lebel-sur-Quévillon. The Cree community closest to the mine site is Waswanipi.



Disclaimer

Some of the information on this website may have been supplied by external sources. The Review Committee assumes no responsibility for the accuracy, timeliness or reliability of information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely on this information should consult directly with the appropriate source.

Projet d’exploitation de la mine Langlois par Nyrstar

Étape de la procédure en cours

Le projet d’exploitation minière Langlois (anciennement mine Grevet, puis Gonzague-Langlois) a été autorisé le 18 novembre 1994.

Information sur le projet

Nom du promoteur

Nyrstar

Numéro de référence

3214-14-026

Abonnez-vous aux alertes par courriel de ce projet

Vous désirez plus d’informations?

Contactez-nous par courriel à [email protected]

Résumé du projet

Le projet d’exploitation minière Langlois a été autorisé le 18 novembre 1994 et consistait en l’exploitation souterraine d’un gisement de zinc et de cuivre à raison de 2500 tonnes par jour, sept jours par semaine pendant 12 ans. Le mort-terrain déplacé était évalué à 15 000 m3 et les stériles extraits représentaient environ 1M m3 dont 10 000 m3 avaient un potentiel générateur d’acide. Compte tenu de l’utilisation des stériles dans la construction de diverses infrastructures et du remblai souterrain, la halde devait contenir un volume d’environ 200 000 m3 de stériles non réactifs. La halde à minerai était aménagée sur le roc et son volume ne devait pas excéder 125 000 tonnes de minerai extrait. Ce projet est relié par une route existante à Lebel-sur-Quévillon et alimenté en électricité par une ligne à 120 kV entre le poste Lebel et le site minier. Le projet ne comportait pas de campement de travailleurs sur place. La production à l’usine a été arrêtée temporairement le 2 novembre 2008 pour reprendre en 2012.

Ce projet fait présentement l’objet d’une demande de modification du certificat d’autorisation afin d’augmenter le volume annuel de l’effluent et modifier la répartition des rejets de l’effluent final selon des périodes ciblées différentes. Plus spécifiquement, la demande de modification vise les objectifs suivants :

  • Augmentation du volume annuel de l’effluent à 3 900 000 m3
  • Nouvelle répartition des rejets de l’effluent final selon des périodes ciblées différentes de façon à mieux les répartir selon les fluctuations des apports d’eau naturelle dans le parc à résidus.

Détails sur la localisation

Le site minier Langlois est située à environ 40 kilomètres au nord de Lebel-sur-Quévillon. La communauté crie située la plus proche du site minier est Waswanipi.



Avis de non-responsabilité

Une partie des informations de ce site Internet pourrait avoir été fournie par des sources externes. Le COMEX n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations.